Criminal Law – Oregon Marijuana Law

MJ iconOregon’s new marijuana law will come into effect on July 1, 2015.  Here are a couple aspects of the law to be aware of:

  1. You still cannot buy or sell marijuana legally.  Until sometime in late 2016, purchasing marijuana will still be illegal unless you are a medical marijuana patient.  You cannot sell marijuana unless you are part of a state regulated dispensary; however, you can give it away.
  2. You still cannot buy marijuana plants.  Again, unless you’re a medical marijuana patient, you will not be able to buy plants when the law goes into effect.  Once the state run retail industry is in place, though, anyone 21 or older will be able to buy plants from dispensaries.
  3. You can (as of July 1, 2015) possess marijuana.  Possession of specified amounts of marijuana will be legal for anyone 21 years or older.  The specified amounts are as follows: Up to 8 ounces at home or 1 ounce away from home; up to 1 pound of solid edibles, or about 10 chocolate bars; 72 ounces of marijuana-infused liquid, or a six-pack of 12-ounce sodas; and 1 ounce of marijuana extract.
  4. There are still penalties for possession more than the specified amount of marijuana.  Possession of more than 8 ounces but not more than 16 ounces is a class B violation, a non-criminal violation equivalent to a traffic ticket.  Possession of between 16 and 32 ounces is a class B misdemeanor.  Possession of more than 32 ounces is a class C felony, but under a bill moving through the Oregon Legislature, the charge would be reduced to a class A misdemeanor.
  5. You still cannot consume marijuana in public.  You can only consume marijuana in your home or another private place.  Not in a park, not at concert, not on the bus.  Consuming marijuana in public is a Class B Violation, punishable by a fine up to $1,000.